Tags

, , , , ,

Just 17 days left of being thirty-something!

Where oh where HAVE my 30s gone!? Anyhow, I plan to celebrate this milestone in style (well as much as possible anyhow).

I’m off to Paris for my actual 40th birthday weekend (excitedly it falls on a Saturday!) There are 8 of us going for four days – my partner and 6 close friends – and we’ve hired an apartment in the Bastille area of the capital. We did find a beautiful one on the side of the River Seine with a balcony that had a complete view of the Eiffel Tower – but sadly they wanted a minimum of 7 nights. So, even though the apartment we’ve chosen isn’t exactly what I wanted, I do love it…and it will do nicely as we’ll all be together. Want a little peek?

paris apartment

If anyone knows of any great places to visit or things to do in Paris then please let me know. Madeleine, if you happen to see this, I wanted to pick your brains about the whereabouts of the Parisian flea-markets ;-)

On my return I have a bit of time off work – so we’ll end up going somewhere else for a few days (we’re thinking of Edinburgh) plus I have a 40th birthday party organised! 70 friends are descending to a lovely local venue – with a theme of the Oscars. This is a mock copy of the invite courtesy of the lovely Trishia over at FrenchKissed (don’t worry we didn’t go for this date or venue in the end!)

pretend invitation mock demo2

The venue we chose is a beautiful 19th century building yet is newly refurbished inside – with a baby grand piano too :-) We have a backdrop all sorted for taking spectacular photographs of the well-dressed guests – and there are other Oscar themed offerings all night too – including awards, Oscar shaped chocolates and Hollywood confetti. Hopefully it’ll be a laugh – with friends from all parts of my life under one roof!

oscars collage 4

I’ll take lots of photographs – and promise to share some of them with you ;-) I can’t wait…

