Tags

, , ,

A beautiful vintage shop nearby called The House of Rose and Brown sells some of my cards that I list within my Etsy shop and showcased here the other day.


(Photos 1 & 2 courtesy of http://www.roseandbrownvintage.co.uk/)

I went in today to see the owner – Caroline, who’s absolutely lovely and a big fan of my work. She informed me that she’d sold 9 of my cards – some Christmas and some blank greetings cards. I handed in some new stock – including the stone snow angel card – and my two new Valentines offerings.

I make very little from my cards – but it is just a hobby after all – and always will be. I knew from when I first started doing it that I’d never be able to retire on my earnings – unfortunately! Instead, my card money becomes my market money, which pays for all of the lovely cheap finds I search for at weekends. Occasionally, I’ll also trade my card money for something in Caroline’s vintage shop. She always has lots of lovely things – so I can normally see something that catches my eye! She sells vintage clothing, jewellery, accessories, furniture, cards and collectables – as well as her own contemporary art.

Today was no exception. I saw some beautiful vintage Post Office miniature weighing scales complete with 6 weights ranging from ½ ounce through to 8 oz. They really are very dinky and very cute ;-) I traded in the money I’d made from my sales – and by paying a mere extra £1.50 – I became the new owner of the lovely old scales. A fairer deal was never done between two artists ;-)

They look lovely sitting on the sideboard with the rest of my curiosities.

Don’t forget to stop by the vintage shop should you ever be in West Yorkshire!

