Tags

, , , , ,

Just passing through tonight, as it’s late and I’ve got to be up for work really early in the morning :-/   I’ve not been in long either – as tonight I have been running a choir. I am one of a pool of conductors that works with a community choir, who meet every Wednesday. I love working with them – they are such a mixture of characters, abilities and voices but always produce a really beautiful sound together. We always have a good laugh together too. I taught them two big pieces tonight with different harmonies and parts.

The first was called “Gaudeamus Hodie” which we did as a round before learning the three different verses and singing them all at the same time in separate groups. We practice in the huge entrance hall of a church – but once we’d mastered the song we sneaked into the actual church itself and filled the space with the choir of angels.

After break I taught them ‘Like An Angel Passing Through My Room’ – a fairly unknown Abba song which is absolutley stunning. I turned the accompaniement into a choral part too for the tenors and basses – so it sounded gorgeous when it was all put together. I accompanied on the piano too. A lovely night, doing what I love: working with people, music and singing.

But now, I’m just sitting here in my PJ’s with a mug of peppermint tea and a huge chunk of cinnamon and raisin bread..trying to stay up as late as I can. Cos the longer I stay up, the longer it seems I have until work in the morning.

