Tags

, , , , ,

Tonight I have been playing with Photoshop; experimenting with new fonts, images and brushes. Why? Well I have decided to open a new Etsy shop at some point to sell my vintage flea-market finds – and so, will need a new banner.

I love the one in my Houdini Cards shop – it is a picture of my Grandmother and her sisters  in approximately 1919. I never met my Grandma but I hear she was a wonderful lady with beautiful wavy hair. I decided to use it for my shop and I believe it works well. But, I was wondering whether to use the same banner – just with a different shop title, to help consistency and recognition amongst other Etsyians. I’m not sure if this will work, so decided to try make some others first. So far I’ve done five! Can I share them with you – and even get you to let me know which one you prefer.

The competition I ran last week was won by Abby from Mutterings from the Moor who came up with the shop name ‘Escape to the Past’ which I love. Admittedly I had originally thought about keeping the ‘Houdini’ name in some way – (again for consistency with my blog and other shop) and so both ‘Houdini Home’ and ‘Houdini House’ crossed my mind, as every vintage thing I will be selling will be for the home. For tonight’s designs I have chosen the latter with Abby’s suggestion almost as a tag line for now. Want to see them? (You can click on them to make them bigger).

Banner Idea 1:

Banner Idea 2:

Banner Idea 3:

Banner Idea 4:

Banner Idea 5:

So, what do you think? Which one makes you think vintage Etsy shop? I’d love you to say which one you prefer – but also feel free to say none of them! I love the font in the banner above – and I also love the picture of Houdini himself in handcuffs – but getting the vintage feel right is vital so that it doesn’t clash with the items I’ll be listing.  Can you see the spoons, wooden rule, photographs, pill box or stamp tin (amongst many others) under any of these banners? I think when I get some time I will experiment making some more, but for now…tell me your thoughts…x

