Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

Sometimes I share my beautiful Etsy finds with you – well, today I wanted to share a stunning internet find instead. Who? What? I hear you ask!

Well, I would like to introduce you to Madeleine Boulesteix. I can’t remember exactly how I came across Madeleine’s website nor blog now – but regardless, am truly glad I did. We started exchanging a few messages about life – and now we follow each others blogs. You can access Madeleine’s blog here.

She is a really lovely, warm, charitable and generous person; but not only that, I also admire her work tremendously. Why? Madeleine makes the most gorgeous and unique chandeliers, (combining both art and function) out of glasses, crystal droplets, jelly moulds, glass teacups, kitchen utensils, pastry cutters…essentially anything that needs re-using, re-cycling, re-imagining and re-creating.  

Searching charity shops, car boot sales and scrap metal yards, Madeliene says: “I prefer to work with things I’ve found and let their qualities dictate what happens. A piece begins with a really simple set of ideas, a shape, a colour combination and the objects I want to use. I liked the idea of making something opulent – a chandelier – but out of humble objects.”

Whilst made from collected objects, Madeliene’s chandeliers maintain classic shapes sitting equally as well with antiques and period interiors, as they do as a contrasting feature in a modern minimal home. Pure timeless pieces of art – I truly adore them and one day – post studies – will invest!

Madeleine has chandeliers and special commissions on view all over the world in exhibtions, shops and homes. She has also just been immortalised in literature through Joanna Trollope’s latest novel ‘The Other Family’ which features a teashop in Highgate and the beautiful chandelier of Madeleine’s that hangs within.

Please check out her website here and let me know what you think. Anyone for tea?

