Tags

, , , , , , ,

On Bank Holiday Monday I went to a local antiques fair. It’s only a matter of 6 miles away from where I live – so I like going whenever it’s on. It normally has up to 200 stalls – with a mixture of wares, antiques and indeed prices! There was various things I would have liked to have bought – but decided to be careful due to other necessary purchases this last week.

Instead I bought this Gentleman’s Valet. For £8 it was a real bargain!

It isn’t necessarily an old one – and it isn’t in the best condition – nor the best specimen I’ve ever seen; however, at that price I didn’t think you could go wrong and I’ve been using it already! I love the little tray in particular – which is perfect for loose change, cufflinks and watch!

I also picked up two small photo frames, some old postcards and another jelly mould – almost identical to the one I bought many months ago. I love pottering around fairs like this, chatting to people and finding out little stories that go with certain items they’re selling.

I had a wonderful day in fact – as afterwards I went to visit an old friend in her newly renovated house which dates from 1761. It’s not completely finished – but it is looking absolutely gorgeous with newly exposed beamings and original stone fireplaces! We went to the little country pub across the road from her for some homemade thick chips and a pint. And later on still, I went to another pub – more locally with some friends, where they were holding their weekly quiz. My beau and I won £45 too – which made the night even more worthwhile! A perfect Bank Holiday Monday!

