Tags

, ,

I received this email today. The sort that you don’t normally read. The sort that you wish the junk function would ween out from the rest of the important mail.  But today, for some reason, I read it – and it made a little bit of sense.

I don’t normally debate things on here – I’m not that kind of blogger. I normally just float my way through cyber land – sharing my vintage wares and finds – local photography – gardening – and generally not much else.    

But today, I thought I’d share this with you – to get your views. It was sent by a very distant [about 8 times removed] but very lovely relative who is 80 years old. This is probably why she sent it on.

I think it was aimed at an American audience originally – as not everything is necessarily relevant to the English senior citizen. But I haven’t changed anything as I know that I have some American followers. I’d like to hear your opinions too.

I just want to say, I’m not adverse to rehabilitation. I think it’s vital. But so is looking after our aging population. Not every prison is like this I’m sure and I’m aware that the media hype up alot of so-called ‘facts’.  And not every care home is bad – but having had experience of such places – I know there are certainly places much better than others! I’m dreading the day I might have to move into one!

Anyhow, the email went like this:

Let’s put the seniors in jail, and the criminals in a nursing home.

This way the seniors would have daily access to showers, hobbies and walks. They’d receive unlimited free prescriptions, dental and medical treatment, wheel chairs…and much more…and they’d receive money instead of paying it out.

They would have constant video monitoring so that they could be helped instantly, if they fell, or ever needed assistance – day or night. Bedding would be washed three times a week and all clothing would be ironed and returned to them this way.

A guard would check on them every 20 minutes – and bring their meals and snacks to their room. They would have family visits in a room built for that purpose. They would have access to a library, gym, spiritual counselling, swimming pool, education, clothing, shoes, slippers and pyjamas – and legal aid would be free, on request.

Private, secure rooms for all, with an exercise outdoor yard – with gardens too. Each senior would have a computer, TV, radio and daily phone calls – free.

There would be a board of directors to hear complaints and the guards would have a code of conduct that would be strictly adhered to.

Whereas, the “criminals” would get cold food, be left all alone and unsupervised. Talked at – and not to – with lights off at 8pm and showers once a week. One TV between 25 governed by staff who also choose the channel. Live in a tiny room and pay £2000 per month for the privilige with no hope of ever getting out.

Food for thought?

