Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

OK – so a new house deserves some new wares – right? My thoughts exactly (!!!) – and I knew you’d agree! I’ve had lots of fun searching for some new items of beauty to make my home even more homely. Want to see some of my latest finds?

First up is this gorgeous Brown & Polson’s blancmange mould.

Brown & Poulson’s started making starch and cornflour in Paisley in 1860 – and produced a number of kitchen wares to promote the brand. I love stone ware – especially anything with advertising or writing on it – so I couldn’t resist buying this Victorian example for my kitchen window ledge.

I love all antiques, although have a penchant for the Victorian era in particular. Hence, why I couldn’t resist this stunning theatre poster dating from 1869. It was already framed – and so hangs beautifully in my kitchen, showcasing two plays ‘Lady Audley’s Secret’ and ‘Time & Tide’.

Another item I bought for the kitchen was this gorgeous Laura Ashley cake stand. It looks great full of home made buns – and sits pride of place on the kitchen table. I’ve placed these wooden alphabet blocks (which look like chocolate brownies) and silver spoons on it to give extra character, when not in ‘cake’ use of course!

One can never have too many plates or serving bowls – which is why I couldn’t resist this china set, found at a bargain price at my local second hand market, comprising plates, different oval serving / roasting dishes and 3 gorgeous soup tureens. Some of these fit perfectly on my kitchen dresser – and will make be regular features as serving dishes at our Sunday roast gatherings!

I do love a mixture of modern and old – especially when things are made so ornately – and this modern, but stunning, candlestick really caught my attention on a recent ‘shopping’ expedition…so much so, that somehow it ended up in my possession!

Two final things I am going to share with you today are these two wooden wash boards: one is metal ridged, whilst the other is glass. These also look glorious in the kitchen, leant against the wall. I might even have a go at ‘playing them’ as an extra bow to my musical repertoire ;-) What do you think?

